Why European Union Had To Come Up With The Concept Of ETIAS?

There are several countries in the world other than the European nations who are permitted to visit and stay in the continent of Europe without a visa for a period of 90 days. To state the fact, there are 62 countries such as the United States, Australia, Canada, New Zealand etc, that are allowed to stay in any European Nations visa-free. The citizens of these countries are allowed to visit the EU nations as well as the countries belonging to the Schengen Border area for business purposes or tourism activities.

There are a total of 26 countries in the continent of Europe that falls into the border of the Schengen Area. These countries follow the same set of rules for international travel issues and act as a single jurisdiction.

There are a total of 26 countries in the world that comes under the Schengen Area Border.  The Schengen Border has a population of 400 million. The 26 countries including, Spain, Denmark, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Italy, Sweden, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Finland, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Belgium, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Greece, Latvia, Norway, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Even though the travelers are allowed to visit Europe for business and travel purposes without their visa but they are not permitted on the continent for getting a job or pursuing education. However, these citizens belonging to the specific 62 countries are also allowed to stay in the European Nations for medical and transit purposes.

Recently, the European Union has introduced a new travel authorization system for citizens who do not need a visa to travel on the continent. The new system is called ETIAS. ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System. It is the new visa waiver system that is going to launch soon. ETIAS will be mandatory for visitors entering Europe from 1st January 2021.

However, the visitors or travelers who always had to carry their visa will remain unaffected upon the launch of this European Travel Information and Authorization System. They will not be required to apply for ETIAS and will continue needing their visas in order to visit the European nations. There are a total of 44 countries in the world that falls under the European border.

ETIAS is introduced to ensure the safety of the European Nations and protect the countries from terrorist activities. Another reason behind the launch of ETIAS is to deal with the migration issues. The European Union takes pride in providing a secure experience to the visitors and in order to continue providing travelers a comfortable experience they are introducing a new cheap and efficient travel authorization system.

The validity of your ETIAS will be three years from the date of the issue, and you can use it for your stay in the European Nations for a period of 90 days at once. But if your passport expires before your ETIAS then it will automatically be considered invalid.

Related Articles